Our Region

The Orana region covers the central and northwestern sectors of New South Wales – an area of more than 200,000 square kilometres and has an estimated population of 123,862. It extends from the hilly western slopes of the Warrumbungle Ranges in the east to the flat plains of Cobar and Bourke in the west, and north to the Queensland border.

The region is the largest and most diverse region in the State, covering an area of 25% of NSW, and has a diverse industry base, rich history and geographical uniqueness, as well as many beautiful natural assets.

It is rich in resources, with a highly productive agricultural sector providing food, wine and fibre to global markets. From black opals to fine red wines, renewable energy, critical minerals and tourism opportunities, the possibilities are endless.

The Orana region encompasses twelve local government areas including Dubbo Regional, Mid-Western Regional, Narromine Shire, Gilgandra Shire, Warren Shire, Coonamble Shire, Warrumbungle Shire, Walgett Shire, Brewarrina Shire, Bogan Shire, Cobar Shire and Bourke Shire.

in investment
$7B in investment
population (March 2024)
123, 862 population (March 2024)
4.1% unemployment
regional output
$19.9B regional output
regional jobs
54,887 regional jobs
business approvals
$399.3M business approvals
businesses (March 2024)
14,288 businesses (March 2024)
gross regional product
$10.4B gross regional product
$8.6B export
Graph of top employment by sector